Autumn … What’s That?

In celebration of the upcoming Thanksgiving holidays, I thought that I would take a break and share some fall inspired images.  See, having grown up, for the most part, in south Florida, I really have never been accustomed to extreme seasonal changes.  By “extreme”, I pretty much mean “any” seasonal changes, for I have basically 2 seasons … hot & muggy or slightly less hot & slightly less muggy.  I wish I was joking.  🙂

Some friends of ours had recently moved to North Carolina and we’ve been trying to get up there for a visit, but I never had the time of work.  Now, I do (#TYN), so we timed our trip to coincide with the fall color explosion of the Appalachian Mountains.  Boy, did we ever time it just right!  Our first drive up the Blue Ridge Parkway, we were greeted to scenes like this …_DSC3943 _DSC3947 Those color burst of red, oranges, yellows, and some still green were such a reward for any outdoor activities in which we indulged.  We decided to hike the Devil’s Courthouse Trail, which our friends (John & Kem) promised we give us a great viewpoint to see the colorful landscape.  The hike was a bit challenging, though not a long hike, so it was good … even for my sensitive foot.  It was definitely worth the effort!  As an added bonus, it was also nice and cool, which Tom & I greatly appreciated._DSC3868 _DSC3859 _DSC3879

A few days later, Tom & I got up really early one morning to catch the pre-sunrise hour, as well as the early monring light.  The clouds were out more than they had been the two earlier days._DSC3903

It was fascinating to see the beautiful colors lighting up those clouds in the sky.

_DSC3959Again, the variety of colors present was mind-boggling.  I found that the only way to capture it was by a “look up to the sky” perspective.  So beautiful.  At one point, Tom & I just parked underneath a canopy of trees and waited for the wind to blow and rain its leaves upon us.
IMG_0152 Yes, there was beauty all around and I wondered … do I really have to leave in the near future?  I found myself trying to soak it all in and nourish the soul._DSC4012 _DSC4031Every time we would leave their gorgeous cabin home, this was our view down their driveway.  So very beautiful!
IMG_0149 The tall trees, so golden, reddish, and orange-ish, were signaling the seasonal changes of the area.  In a symphony of falling leaves all around us, I couldn’t help but wonder how long it would be until the last leaf finally dropped … how it would look … and when it would begin to blossom again with the green of spring and summer.IMG_0171

The guys, avid mountain and road cyclists, were usually off cycling somewhere.  One day we went to Bent Creek Experimental Forest and I ventured off on my own for some exploration.  I have to admit that I was a bit taken back though because there was a plethora of signs about the bear hunt taking place most of the year and warnings about staying on trail and wearing bright colored clothing.  I looked down at my black vest and dark gray shirt … and my gray pants.  I hoped that I would be OK and seriously doubted that there would be any bears, since we had been seeing lots of hunters seemingly everywhere.  It was at that moment I thought of our own bears in Florida who were about to undergo their own bear hunt … don’t even get me going on that one.

_DSC4129 I was fine on my hike and the next day, we all hiked together on the Dupont Forest Trails, which connect 3 beautiful waterfalls along the way and amidst the fall colored landscape.IMG_0180 IMG_0179

Yes, it was a wonderful, yet brief, week of visiting with some very good friends, good food, lots of laughs, and who could forget, all of that fabulous fall landscape.  Ahh, it was wonderful!  🙂
IMG_0184Thanks so much to John & Kem for hosting us … it was a blast and we will be back!  🙂

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

Next up:  More from Alaska!!

© 2015  Debbie Tubridy / TNWA Photography

 

Leave a Reply

