It’s That Time of Year Again …. Alaska!

Ever have one of those places that you enjoy so much that before you know … it becomes an annual tradition?  Well, for us, that place is the Alaskan wilderness!  We also have a very favorite time of year to visit too, so in mid-August, we packed up our bags, charged up our batteries, and off we went.  This would now be our “home away from home” during our stay in the 49th state.

IMG_2884OK, so we really didn’t need a 31-foot RV, but it’s what we were able to get at the time, so we took it.  Funny too, that you just end up adapting to the extra space and before you know it, it’s filled up as if it were 6-foot shorter!

Once we filled our refrigerator and cabinets with some groceries and such, we were off for the Kenai Peninsula via the Seward Highway.  A favorite drive of ours, especially when we travel literally feet from Turnagain Arm – with its Cook Inlet waters, Chugach Mountains, and numerous glaciers – it always pleases.

_DSC5915

Tidal variations are big here and if your’re lucky, you can catch the bore tide coming in or going out.  We always keep a look out for the beluga whales in this area too.

_DSC5921

Before long, our search turns out to be successful, with numerous pods of these beautiful belugas rolling by us … and this time, we got tail flukes too!  I was quite excited.

DSC_5895 _DSC2889

The beluga whales of the Cook Inlet are a protected species and signs remind us and others of that fact and what to do should we witness any harassment which might interfere with their recovery to the area.DSC_5971 While we’ve seen them on previous trips, we had never seen them in such quantities.  If I had to guess I would say that we had seen over 50!  DSC_6009 Looks like one even tried to wave it’s fluke at us … LOL … OK, maybe I took that one too far.  But either way, we were quite thrilled and I saw it as already a good sign of things to come.  Definitely off to a great start!

DSC_5778 There’s something so special about a mainly blue sky, except for those clouds strategically placed sporadically in the backdrop of the landscape.IMG_2885

Along the Seward Highway, you reach a fork in the road … one must continue on the Seward Highway towards Seward (but not for us on this day) or choose the other “fork” and head on the Sterling Highway towards Homer.  At this junction, there’s a fascinating landscape at Tern Lake.  When the weather is cooperating, we make it a point to stop there and try to capture its beauty.  Earlier in the summer, the lake is full of arctic terns and other birds nesting in the grassy areas of the lake.  However, this time of year, there’s not too much going on.

_DSC5938 There was however at least one common loon swimming, diving, and flapping off far in the distance.  As much as I tried, I couldn’t “wish it” to come any closer.  One of these days I’ll get a loon shot worth something!  LOLDSC_6059

There were also a pair of trumpeter swans showing off in the distance as well.

DSC_6076 One more shot of the Tern Lake landscape and we’re off on the Sterling towards Homer, Alaska.  🙂_DSC5937

So far … so good.  I’ve got a good feeling about this trip.

Next up:  A stroll through autumn, as seen in North Carolina  🙂

© 2015  Debbie Tubridy / TNWA Photography

6 thoughts on “It’s That Time of Year Again …. Alaska!

    • It was our best beluga whale sighting of our 9 trips out there. Thanks Rebecca!
      Not sure if you noticed that I nominated you for the wildlife photo challenge on Facebook. No biggie if you don’t want to do it, but i thought it might be fun for you … you have so many amazing wildlife shots! Miss you. 🙂

  1. I really am excited about your Alaska photos Debbie, it is a place long on my wish/bucket list. We did the Alaska cruise years ago but it is not the same as heading there in a RV. Your images just make me want to go more and more! On another note, I wonder what format you are using in your blog? I have been using the free blog but have used up my space, I now need to purchase it. I like the set up you have and the size of your images. Thanks Debbie! I look forward to the next installment!

    • Hi Wendy! First of all, thanks for your comments and following the blog.
      Secondly, regarding the space provided in the free blog, I had the same issue starting, so I took some measures to maximize my space as much as possible. I make sure that when I add media (images) to the blog’s library, that I don’t load anything high resolution … in fact, everything I load is very small in file size. Consequently the blog images may not be the sharpest tools in the drawer, but I use very little space now and I have less to worry about regarding the unwanted usage of my blog images. Win-Win as far as I’m concerned. If you have other questions, just send me an email and I will do my best to help out. Warning: I’m far from the most competent when it comes to computer stuff, but between the two of us, we can figure it out. 🙂 My email is either dmtubridy@gmail.com or tnwaphotography@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

