A Burrowing Owl Encore!

It’s been some time since the last burrowing owl post and there’s so many images from 2015, so I though that I would share a few more and give some final thoughts on them as well.

I just love it when they are perched on something which offers me an interesting background, especially when I can produce a bokeh which adds to the shot.  The blue sky is perfect when filtered through the leaves of a nearby tree.

20150520-DSC_4181

Though these are siblings, they have very different eye colors.  Both are quite beautiful.  the yellow ones are piercing when the sunlight casts itself on them just so, but the brownish yellow are so different that I find it hard to look away.  Either way, I love them both!

20150526-DSC_2504

Yes, they sure love to launch themselves into flight, as well as jumping around quite a bit.  I just LOVE when they focus on their landings … eyes on the prize and talons out ready for the grab.

20150520-DSC_4436

They run from burrow to burrow when they have more than one entrance to home.

20150520-DSC_4378 20150526-DSC_2473 20150526-DSC_2474

To me, the main thing that I want the owls to do while I’m photographing them is to act natural and do the things that owls do.  I don’t want them to be preoccupied by my presence.  I prefer to see the eyes, even if just caught through the feathers of its wings.

20150526-DSC_2470

A favorite activity for these owls was the “attack” and wrestling of each other … reminded me of a worldwide wrestling event.  LOL

20150526-DSC_2469 20150526-DSC_2476

These burrowing owls are very social with each other and they “kiss”, groom, and “canoodle” each other quite often.  Looks so sweet.  🙂

20150526-DSC_2495

Of course, they shed their feathers on occasion, which totally becomes a favorite “toy” to play with.

20150520-DSC_4294

So is flying around the burrow, landing on perches, etc.  This year was unusual because in years past, I had seen the owls hunting a bit and feeding, but I saw none of that this year.  Of course, they were well fed and would expel their pellets (remnants of their undigested material) quite frequently.  🙂

20150520-DSC_4249

In this particular burrow, sometimes the perch became quite crowded!

20150526-DSC_2348

These owls are pretty much busy all day, and they get tired just like we do.  Like some people, some could almost fall asleep anywhere!  LOL

20150519-DSC_1992

Can’t wait to see what 2016 holds in regards to photographing the owls of south Florida!  I hope that you enjoyed them as much as I did.  🙂

Next Up:  Let’s go back to ALASKA!!

© 2015  Debbie Tubridy / TNWA Photography

8 thoughts on “A Burrowing Owl Encore!

  1. Fantastic set of shots Debbie! I love owls, never see any here! Guess I’m not looking in the right places! All the owls are so beautiful, you’ve done a fantastic job of capturing them! Have a great week! Rodney

    • Thanks so much Rodney! We have lots of burrowing owls in south Florida … I spend lots of time with them. They’re quite entertaining and never a dull moment! Have a great week as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

