Canyonlands NP & Dead Horse Point SP

One can’t visit Moab, UT and Arches National Park, without at least a quick visit to the nearby Canyonlands National Park & Dead Horse Point State Park.  So before we left the area to head back into Colorado (on our way to Rocky Mountain NP), we did just that.  Of course, we  got up super early and planned to get to Mesa Arch in Canyonlands for the early morning light … the sunrise … the start of another new day.  Yes, that was our plan…. ours and that of many other photographers as well.  So, what else is new?

DSC_4078

So though we were the first at the location, before the “golden moment” arrived, we were one of many – all jockeying for perfect spot.  LOL.

DSC_4216

When we were done shooting Mesa Arch, we headed back to our vehicles.  I found it amazing how so much of the landscape I had earlier walked through I never saw … perhaps due to the headlamps and darkness on our way out.

DSC_4321

After Canyonlands, I wanted to be sure to visit Dead Horse Point State Park.  So off we ventured.  I sure was glad that we did!

DSC_4389

Wow!  What an amazing place it was!  There were many viewpoints and vistas, but at Dead Horse Point, it’s actually one of the most photographed vistas in the world … and with good reason.  Situated about 2,000 feet above the Colorado River, as it meanders through the landscape of vertical cliffs and canyons.

DSC_4430 I found it to be as impressive as the Grand Canyon as far as the view went … on and on for miles with such varied terrain and colors running throughout it.

DSC_4390

DSC_4374

DSC_4377

Everywhere you looked the view just got better.

DSC_4397

DSC_4376

One of my favorite views was that of Shafer Canyon Overlook.  I mean, look at this drop off!  Thankfully we were running short of time or else I feared that Tom would want to drive down into the canyon on all of those switchbacks.  The only thing that seemed more frightening to me was when Tom said that he wanted to come back and descend into the canyon on his mountain bike.  Better him than me.

DSC_4339

Having an extreme fear of heights, I was able to shuffle myself to the edge so that we could take a shot … you know, with our feet in the view.

DSC_4345

Friends asked me if I was afraid to sit on the edge … what do you think?  Truth be told I was foolishly hanging on, with my fingers mind you, to Tom’s pants.  Right?  As if that was going to save me if I slipped or toppled over.  LOL

DSC_4372

Yes, it was a fascinating place and certainly deserved much more time than the few hours we had available to spend.  When I posted this image below on photography sites, someone described it as apocalyptic … I think that pretty much sums it up.  Though in truth, it was undeniably beautiful and quite unique.

DSC_4382

If you haven’t made it to Dead Horse Point SP, be sure that you do.  You won’t regret it!

From here, we ventured on to Rocky Mountain NP, which has already been covered in 2 previous blog posts.  If you missed them, they can be found at:

https://tnwaphotography.wordpress.com/2014/05/22/rocky-mountain-high-in-colorado/ https://tnwaphotography.wordpress.com/2014/05/29/owls-here-there/

4 thoughts on “Canyonlands NP & Dead Horse Point SP

  1. Oh wow, you and Tom get to see the neatest places! I love how you included him in the last shot. Having a person in there really gives you a sense of how big and amazing the canyons are. Thanks for sharing!

    • I know what you mean about perspective! See, Tom doubles as not only the sherpa, but as my model too! Haha. He does shoot as well. I guess you could say he’s my “triple threat”. Thanks!

    • The altitude in Utah isn’t too bad at all and if you’re acclimated, not any problem that I could even remember. Now in Colorado, the altitude is much higher and I have had issues, but honestly, most of the issues I probably would have had anyways ;-). The key is to gradually increase your altitude, drink plenty of fluids, and take it slow.

Leave a Reply

