Reminiscing About Oregon 2013

How many of you can relate to having a shortage of time?  How about getting busy with the everyday necessities in life that you forget to reflect fully on something that you just experienced?  I hate to admit it, but lately I’ve had those kind of days … weeks … even months.

_DSC2023

So it’s fitting that today I take a moment to reflect on a trip out west that I took last year, almost a full year ago.  See Tom goes out on an annual trip to the west coast.  Specifically Oregon is his destination.  He meets up with some of his south Florida and Pacific Northwest friends for their annual meeting in Oregon for a week of male bonding over RC glider flying.  Not wanting to interfere with the testosterone flow out there, I decided to fly out a week early and spend the time in Oregon with Tom, but with a twist to the arrangement … I had to also visit the Palouse region of eastern Washington.  Agreed!

I’ll start with Oregon first, though in reality it was the other way around.  🙂

_DSC0787

I guess you know what they say about Oregon … “lots of drizzly weather” and I can attest to that fact.  Of course, Tom said that as soon as I headed home, he never saw the rain again.  Though it’s probably true (he wouldn’t lie to me, would he?), funny how that works.

While Oregon has many wonderfully beautiful places to venture, I personally only had about 4 days, so we decided to do a bit of coastal, then work our way back to Hood River, which would be Tom’s home base for the following week.

I arrived in Portland, and we drove to Cannon Beach, OR on the Pacific coast.  What a beautiful place that was too.  We stayed directly across the street from the ocean and the haystacks, which are so infamous with the area.  Most of the time that we were there, the skies were overcast or threatening, but that didn’t diminish the beauty of the jagged coastline, so different to my own home base of the southern Atlantic Ocean coast.

_DSC1723

The town was quiet, which I was thrilled with, and we visited numerous sites in the area, including Ecola State Park, where we were thrilled to be greeted by several bald eagles – adults and juveniles.  What a show they put on for us – between the rain storms that is.  I truly was in heaven observing and listening to their calling out.

_DSC0713

_DSC1797

_DSC1976

_DSC1972

_DSC1978

We also visited Fort Stevens State Park, on the coast also, but at the mouth of the Columbia River.  It was gorgeous there as well, the views to die for, and numerous terns and bald eagles, among other birds entertaining us with their antics.

_DSC1635

_DSC1690

As we made our way towards Hood River, we had to stop (of course, in the rain) at Multnomah Falls.  While the area was quite quaint and beautiful, and it was fairly non-populated with tourists when we were there, I still found myself challenged with getting that “great shot” of the falls that I had longed for.

_DSC0933

I had to settle for this …

_DSC0940

However, I did have a grand time with the hummingbirds darting in and out of view at the nearby feeders.  🙂  It was really one the first times that I had photographed them (except in controlled circumstances), so it was fun for me.  Probably not as much fun as it was for the “falls” tourists who were so puzzled by my obsession with the hummingbirds … sort of like I had never seen one before … and HELLO … the falls were behind you!  LOL.  Just goes to show that one man’s trash in another man’s treasure…. right?

_DSC1000

_DSC1029

_DSC1028

Eventually, we made our way to Hood River.  Tom took me up to the top of the area where he flies his RC gliders, as he surely got excited with what was to come.  For me, yes, it was beautiful … but where are the wild animals???  Haha.

Hood River

Oh, and we did spot this creature in the woods along the way … he does exist … we have proof!  😉

_DSC0281

Oh, that’s right, we did have birds and squirrels, not to mention this fine view out of our lodge room.

_DSC0845

In the next blog post, I’ll share my images and thoughts on the Palouse.  Stay tuned for more.  🙂

_DSC0728

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

