Winter Magic of Yellowstone NP

For several months, I had been getting the itch to return to Yellowstone National Park in the winter.  It finally culminated on New Year’s Eve, when Tom was making his plans to venture out on his annual month long snowboarding trip.  I thought … why should he have all of the fun?  I know that I didn’t have a month’s worth of vacation to spend, but could I have a month’s worth of fun in just 1 week?  The answer was an overwhelming YES!

That’s how I decided to join a group of photographers for a Winter in Yellowstone photo tour … then it hit me … NO SHERPA!  Yikes!  Well, it was more than time to pull on my “big girl panties” and so I packed my 48# camera bag carry-on (bless all of the men who helped me with my gear on and off the plane), my tripods, my winter clothes and off I went … looking like I was indeed going on that month-long trip, like Tom.  🙂

Arrival into Bozeman

Arrival into Bozeman

I arrived into Bozeman and was transported to West Yellowstone the following day (after literally about 18 hrs of sleep, yes, I had burned the candle before making the trek).  By the time I arrived in West Yellowstone, I already had felt a great comfort with the other members of my group.  Yes, it was the start of an amazing trip!

My arrival gift

My arrival gift

The day began with an early boarding on our snow coach.  As we all piled in, ourselves and our equipment, I distinctly heard a “holy crap” when my bag was hoisted inside.  It did get lighter as the week progressed.  A girl from south Florida into the winter wonderland of sub-zero temperatures of Yellowstone, just had to be sure to have everything she needed.

Snowcoach is the only way to go in Yellowstone in the winter!

Snowcoach is the only way to go in Yellowstone in the winter!

As we drove down through Madison, we immediately found several pairs of trumpeter swans on the river.  What a great way to get those image-taking fingers warmed up!

_DSC4419

_DSC4481

We would pass more trumpeter swans, but we were on a mission to Hayden Valley, so we passed them up.  “Stop the bus” was called out for a coyote on the hillside, only to find out 2 things:  #1  There were several coyotes there, including 2 frolicking along the rivers edge right across from us & #2 The snow along the roadside is REALLY DEEP!  Of course, I found out the hard, but fun way!  LOL

I think I interrupted their play time by falling waist deep into the snow!

I think I interrupted their play time by falling waist deep into the snow!

_DSC4562

_DSC4625

The coyotes were running around up and down the hillside, through the deep snow, in the absolutely gorgeous light!

Coyote making good time on its way down the hillside

Coyote making good time on its way down the hillside

_DSC4857

JUMP!

JUMP!

We stayed there longer than planned, but how could you leave these beautiful creatures when we were all having so much fun …

_DSC4881

_DSC4803

A much needed bathroom break yielded probably one of the most bizarre situations of the week.  There was a dusky grouse who was hanging out at the rest stop, apparently making good use of the human’s crumbs.  Well, the park service didn’t like that and tried their best to make it leave.  Meanwhile, it entertained the visitors as it ran around, flew to the top of a nearby shack, tried to bury itself in the snow on the roof, and eventually flew down to the snow, amongst the visitors.  What a thrill for me and quite a beautiful bird.

Sliding down the snow covered roof

Sliding down the snow covered roof

So beautiful!

So beautiful!

Thanks Dan for capturing this image - she flew down to me!

Thanks Dan for capturing this image – she flew down to me!

What YOU looking at?

What YOU looking at?

Other birds along the way included some time spent with an American Dipper, as it would fly from the frozen river bank to the water and back … repeatedly.  The goldeneyes were also congregating nearby and plunging into the water as well.

Taking flight ....

Taking flight ….

.... touch down, just prior to the dive ....

…. touch down, just prior to the dive ….

.... flying back to do it all over again!

…. flying back to do it all over again!

"I will not be outdone by the dipper"

“I will not be outdone by the dipper”

"Look what I can do!"

“Look what I can do!”

Of course, no trip to Yellowstone is complete without visiting Yellowstone Falls … such an iconic sight to see, and even more beautiful when draped in winter’s snow & ice.  I don’t think that its ever looked more beautiful!

DSC_0572

The surrounding canyon views weren't too shabby either.

The surrounding canyon views weren’t too shabby either.

We got our first glimpses of the bison, as they notoriously carry around much frozen snow and ice on their coat.

DSC_0600

When we were having so much fun with the coyotes, I jokingly asked Dan if he could arrange a lynx for me.  He laughed and said that he would see what he could do.  Well, we didn’t get the lynx, but we did get the bobcat!  What a beautiful creature it was too!

_DSC5108

It didn’t do much, other than sit there … look at us … blink … turn slightly …. and close its eyes, but it didn’t matter.  I was jumping for joy with this sighting and I thought to myself … I can go home now!  Of course, I didn’t mean it literally, but I was thrilled beyond belief.

_DSC6693

How could our trip possibly get better?  Well, I was about to find out!

Stay tuned for more, as I will blog more about the magical winter experience I had in Yellowstone NP.

The end of a wonderful start to my trip to Yellowstone NP - winter-style.

The end of a wonderful start to my trip to Yellowstone NP – winter-style.

8 thoughts on “Winter Magic of Yellowstone NP

    • Thanks Jess! It was so much fun out there …. I think we should get a group to head out there …. it would be fun! Regarding the sherpa this weekend, I doubt it since he’s overdue on his cycling schedule. He’ll be sorry when he sees the adorable shots! 🙂

Leave a Reply

