Parting Is Such Sweet Sorrow

Today’s blog will finish my Burrowing Owl series – at least for now.  See, they’re all still at the burrows, so …. you just never know.  🙂

"Hey ... is that you again?"

“Hey … is that you again?”

When I returned to the burrows, after my 2-week hiatus, I was quite excited to see that everyone was fine and progressing along splendid.

Several "gang" members - safe & sound  :-)

Several “gang” members – safe & sound 🙂

The gang was flying around …

Showing off its skills by flying around and around - in and out of the trees

Showing off its skills by flying around and around – in and out of the trees

… perfecting their balance skills …

"You're not supposed to land on each other!"

“You’re not supposed to land on each other!”

… hanging out in the nearby trees, even ones a bit further away

Height was soon not a factor in the trees

Height was soon not a factor in the trees

Yes, even after I stressed about them when we had over 14 inches on rain over a 24-hour period and I feared for their survival, of course, nature has a way of making it all work out for them.  🙂  Thank goodness!

The gang was all accounted for!

Of course, it wasn’t always only the burrowing owls that came around while I was photographing.

There were parrots flying around freely

There were parrots flying around freely

Who could forget our resident friendly squirrel

Who could forget our resident friendly squirrel

Activity level was at a high for awhile …

Playtime has never ceased with these guys!

Playtime has never ceased with these guys!

However, over time, the activity level, though still active, became more and more unpredictable.  In short, it became that much harder to photograph them in their flight activities since they were so confident in their abilities, that they no longer took the time to size up their next move …. and give you a “heads up” for capturing the moment.

Sizing up the leap to the top of the perch!

Sizing up the leap to the top of the perch!

Eventually, I found myself more and more, just going out there to spend time with them.

My "friends"

My “friends”

I became a bit mesmerized with their amazing eyes – so bright, big, and yellow!

Such beautiful eyes that captivate the photographer

Such beautiful eyes that captivate the photographer

A bit excited, don't you think?

A bit excited, don’t you think?

I would simply sit back and watch them – often, as they watched me.

Peeking at me with the same interest that I was peeking at them with.  :-)

Peeking at me with the same interest that I was peeking at them with. 🙂

I know that it sounds a bit bizarre, but I know that they knew me, felt comfortable around me, if you will.

Just can't get enough of these guys!

Just can’t get enough of these guys!

The last time I was out there, they were all out in force… all accounted for.  I said my goodbyes to them, just in case I didn’t see some of them again.  See, they should be getting ready to “flee the burrow” soon.

"What did you say?"

“What did you say?”

I especially gave a special farewell to Peanut.  After all, Peanut was the one that would make me smile most of all.  🙂

Peanut and one of its parents

Peanut and one of its parents

Such a gorgeous specimen

Such a gorgeous specimen

I then thanked the parents for their patience with my presence for the last 3 months and reflected on how I had grown to admire them so much.

One of the pair of burrowing owl parents at Brian Piccolo Park

One of the pair of burrowing owl parents at Brian Piccolo Park

Burrowing owls become of reproductive age in 1 year, so I wonder who I will visit with their babies next year… and I can’t wait!  🙂

3 thoughts on “Parting Is Such Sweet Sorrow

  1. You had a really great year with these guys. I’m sad to see the series end, but I’m sure you’re cooking up something equally exciting to post soon. Bears, perhaps??? 🙂

Leave a Reply

