Welcome to My Blog

Happy New Year!

_DSC1312-3

I had a New Year’s Resolution in 2012 … it was to begin my personal blog.  I did create the blog site, however, I never got around to posting any blog entries.  Not that I hadn’t thought about it … for every month it seems, as I saw my “To Do” list … there it was …. “Write a blog entry”.  So, guess what my first 2013 New Year’s Resolution was?  You guessed it, finally the first entry!  This all seems a bit weird for me.  Those of you who know me, know that I’m not short on words, but this is so “out there” for me, so have some patience with me as I undergo my first post.

What to talk about?  Let’s see … overall I want to share random thoughts about life, travel, wildlife, nature, and of course adventures experienced.  I have always loved to LIVE life to the fullest … trying to never have regrets about something I did, but more importantly something that I didn’t do.

_DSC0732

I thought that it would be best if I took the first post opportunity to reflect upon my life in 2012.  It was a very busy one for me!  From wedding planning to a return journey to Alaska to a family reunion (and its extension travel, of course) out west, it was a challenge to say the least.

HDR_DSC1332-1334

PART 1:  See, early in 2012, we were putting the finishing touches to a year’s worth of planning my daughter Kelli’s wedding.  Well, she actually did the vast majority of the work – bless her heart – all while finishing her Master’s in Human Performance at the University of Florida in Gainesville, FL  (yes, she’s a Gator – after spending 6 years pursuing her educational goals – but she did me proud by graduating With Honors, with a B.S. and her M.S.), while still holding down a research position and then a FT job as an Exercise Physiologist in Ocala, FL.  All the while her husband-to-be was traveling for his job and spending a full year in Arkansas.  Imagine my surprise when she told me that she wanted to get married in the Georgia mountains!  Now that planning was quite complicated, but it did have benefits – as we needed to travel to Cleveland, GA to visit Neverland Farms (no, not Neverland Ranch). The wedding was the most amazing one – so relaxed, so natural, so beautiful, so “country chic” as my daughter calls it.  (Note:  the wedding images are not mine, simply borrowed for the blog, yet impressed in my memory – thanks to Matthew for capturing through images this spectacular day for us).

20120331-KM3420120331-KM10720120331-KM13220120331-KM14020120331-KM340

These wonderful candles are available from our friends @ Drunkenbottle  (www.drunkenbottle.com)

These wonderful candles are available from our friends @ Drunkenbottle – the art of recycle  (www.drunkenbottle.com)

20120331-KM46220120331-KM539

I honestly don’t think that I’ve ever felt so proud … the moment when the ceremony was over and Tom & I were watching everyone have an amazing time at the reception.  How beautiful Kelli was and what a lovely young lady she had become – so caring, yet strong, and how mature she had become over the years when I wasn’t looking.  🙂  I distinctly remember looking at Tom and declaring … “We’ve done good”!

20120331-KM522

Immediately after the wedding, they took off on their honeymoon to Costa Rica, where apparently my daughter and Mitchell walked through the croc-infested waters unknowingly, because they didn’t want to be “tourists” and take the boat over to the other side.  Yes, she’s got a bit of me in her – always seeking adventure.  Yikes!  They are now living in Brockport, NY, where Mitchell’s job has taken him.  Of course, this called for a visit where we toured Niagara Falls, Rochester, Hamlin Beach, Braddock Bay and the quite impressive Letchworth State Park.  Destination for 2013?  Who knows, but hopefully somewhere fun!

_DSC5180 _DSC5355 _DSC5385 _DSC5457_DSC5524

Over the next few months, we visited the Everglades quite a bit and had a crocodile experience of our own!  What a thrill!

_DSC7989-4_DSC7935-3

Do a Blog : Check!

Stay tuned for Parts 2, 3, & 4 of my 2012 Year in Review.

5 thoughts on “Welcome to My Blog

    • Thanks so much Michael! I feel like such a newbie at all of this. Hopefully it will get easier. I also know a good friend who can help when needed – hint, hint ;-).
      Thanks for your encouragement!

  1. You inspire me Debbie!!! Beautifully done! I’ve been wanting to do this as well, but don’t know where to begin. You have a knack for writing and sharing and I admire that.

  2. I was admiring your amazing shots and realized what a small world it is. I was looking at the wedding pictures and was pouring over the wedding party picture thinking “Look how nice Debbie looks” when I realized that one of the bridesmaids was Gentry. She sits near me at work. I yelled out “Gentry, were you in a wedding in north Georgia?” and she was like “How did you know that/” I showed her your blog. When I lived in Atlanta I used to cut through Cleveland to go to Helen all the time. I didn’t realize how beautiful it was there back then.

    Can’t wait to see more bear pictures.

    • OMG Dina – how bizarre is that? Yes, Gentry and Kelli were good friends in Gainesville at UF and a job that they worked at together. She’s such a sweetheart! You just never know, do you ….. 🙂

Leave a Reply

